Django Unchained – The “D” is silent…

DjangoUnchainedOfficialPosterPT

Yes, as the title suggests, I saw Django Unchained.
As a side note, it maybe a little bit longer for posts to arrive, as A) I have to get used to WordPress’ graphical changes, and B) I got a job, so that will also eat up some time.

So, onto the movie. Damn it’s awesome, gives you the right amount of plot, character depth and just a touch of cheese to make it a great flick. Not to mention being so good, you don’t notice you’re in the theatre close to 3 hours. Tarantino has knocked it out of the park, basically expanding on style in which he placed in Inglorious Basterds, but taking out some of the longer, time-consuming dialogues.

Although my favourite scene with Golden Globe Winner (Yes, I watched the awards), Christoph Waltz in Inglorious Basterds with the french version of Gerard Butler. (No it’s not really Gerard, but the man playing the Frenchman, looks a lot like him). Now, within the first 20 minutes of Django, I saw exactly why he won Best Supporting Actor in this movie. The man is awesome as the German Bounty Hunter, Dr. Schultz. I loved him in this movie, just like I did in Inglorious Basterds. Then we have Jamie Foxx, who’s perfect for the role of Django, pity he didn’t get nominated for his role, but he was kinda overshadowed by his supporting cast in the movie.

I can also see why Leonardo DiCaprio was also nominated for his role in this movie. A lot of people have said this, and I agree with them, this is his best performance in a movie. Being Calvin Candie, he became the sadistic, southern charmer that is needed for a primary villain in this movie. I also remembered when it happened, the key scene that was talked about before the movie’s release. Leo’s dedication to keeping the scene moving, when he injures himself. Yes its a real injury, people. So we see his real blood on-screen, THAT’s dedication to his craft. It’s also why I loved his performance in this movie, that despite injuring himself, he didn’t stop the scene and be a cry baby, but the fact he decided internally that “ah well fuck it, let’s roll with this.”

The plot is simple and straight forward, rescue the damsel with a dash of revenge in it. Tarantino wanted to do a spaghetti western, and at first, I admitted it before I saw the trailer, I thought based on rumor. “Oh no” it may suck. Then I saw the trailer and said, “Nope, I’m going to see that movie!” I am glad I did. I will admit, I did end up being late for the viewing, so I missed most of the opening credits, so I don’t know what was done prior to the credits. I’ll probably have to wait until it arrives on DVD or Blu-Ray to find out.

Quentin’s film choice: Now, I mentioned this to Brent, who was with me for the viewing. Quentin does not particularly enjoy digital filmmaking. He prefers to have traditional effects, and use a film camera, instead of digital. With that being said, the movie while having some film grain, which works, it’s still beautifully shot. I still love old film cameras, because in instances where a film grain is nice to see, such as a western, it makes sense to use a film camera. As digital is fine for clear imagery, but artificial film grain will annoy the hell out of you, especially in a 3D viewing. Like I mentioned in the Dredd review. Quentin also shows up in his own movie, and god damn it, he’s hilarious with that accent. Also, his favourite stunt woman, Zoe does show up, as a masked figure in the movie. You’ll know what I mean when you see her.

This is definitely a great flick to check out, if you can’t get to the theatre to see it, give it a rent. If you’re a Tarantino fan, buy it. Also, as another note, I know of the implications of the character name and theme showing up in a previous foreign film called Django. However, this movie is not based on it, the only things matching are the theme song used and the name of the character. As such, Quentin’s win of best original screenplay is deserved for the globes. Also his nomination in the Oscars is also deserved.

Side Note: Why did James Remar get 2 roles?

Leave a Reply

