Prometheus…

Prometheus Poster

Oh man, where do I begin…

Now I know what you’re thinking with that first statement. It does sound bad doesn’t it, well it is, and it isn’t. It’s hard to explain this so I will talk about the finer points in the movie, and the qualms I had with the rest. The movie is alright, worth seeing, now the two distinct features of this movie will be very similar to that of James Cameron’s Avatar. I say this, because it’s another visually stunning movie, however, story is a bit of a conundrum.

Visuals:

Ridley Scott has returned with his friend H. R. Giger for more stunning work, the visual artistry of the film is amazing, some of the best you’ll see in this day and age. Special Effects are good. Creature effects, were limited, as CGI is used, so some of the effects are clearly CGI, and some of it is good, some could be a bit better. The camera work is great, Ridley still knows his stuff, in that regard. The atmosphere and ambiance work extremely well, it presents itself well. I will try to not spoil the movie, as it is something to be seen.

Acting:

Definitely have a great cast here, Michael Fassbender, Charlize Theron, Guy Pearce, Noomi Rapace, Idris Elba, Logan Marshall-Green and a cameo by Patrick Wilson. Everyone whom is featured in this list does a great job with their characters, they know how to make us believe they’re these people. It’s just the characters themselves could use some more depth.

Story:

Oh god, the story, this is where I am hung up on. It’s not bad, but it feels like it should be two separate films, I can see where Ridley Scott wanted to create something new, and that looks amazing. However, being forced to include the Alien theology too, is really where the movie starts to make this great divide inside itself. I would’ve loved to see a prequel to Alien, its just that we got this. Which by no means is a horrid movie, it’s just needs to be separated. Both plots would’ve been great separately, unfortunately I can see where Fox and the fan influence had gotten in the way. I’m not bashing the fans, as I myself being a major fan of the Alien movies, am guilty of this too for wanting a prequel.

As a result of these two ideas being thrust together, the writing suffers. The characters have very little depth, some you really don’t care about, and some have very little emotional depth that they all must be androids, like Michael Fassbender’s character, David. I counted only 3 characters in the entire movie that had any depth at all, and they didn’t have a lot, but at least it was more than the rest. The reason why they have the most depth, is because they have major roles in the story. Not to mention some of the plot development, was predictable in some instances. Not a lot, but there were a few times where I could sit there, and call out when something was going to happen, in terms of subtle details, that show up to something that’s supposed to be key to the story, but it really isn’t necessary.

Like I said, seems like two movies intertwined, not to mention some sequences don’t make a lot of sense, and very little explanation is given. If I hadn’t watched the other Alien films, I would’ve been completely oblivious to what some of the movie’s key details were trying to show. It kind of leaves you with this thought of, I know there will be a possible sequel, but its going to be a movie that is of a story line that isn’t related to the alien movies what-so-ever, which is fine, but it will suffer as a result of this flick’s reception. This movie is worth a watch, and the 3D is ok, but at least it’s a movie to watch, and isn’t completely useless like some movies being made these days.

Trailers, well there were at least 2 that I saw, one was Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, which looks pretty good, and then before that, The Great Gatsby, which looks amazing, and hopefully it does well.

Also, Ghost Rider 2, I’ll probably have it up in a couple of days, as I have a copy, I just haven’t had time to watch it, as this move I’m in the middle of, is still on going and will take a bit to settle. So, I’ll try to have it up soon.

Leave a Reply

