Dual Movie Mini Review

So, recently I went and saw a couple of movies, Chronicle, and Hugo. I had been wanting to see Hugo since it came out, as I enjoy Scorsese movies. Even though its different from his usual movies. Instead of me putting this off much longer, as I tend to get lazy sometimes, kinda like Kevin Smith sometimes does. I’m going to move forward and keep going.

Hugo and Chronicle

Hugo and Chronicle

Chronicle

This movie is different from most found footage movies, as it takes the path of having hand-held cameras, but execute them well. It uses the shaky factor sparingly, but goes for a more standard film presentation, where the camera frames the people in the shots, and keeps us interested. I’m not a fan of these kind of movies, as I only enjoy such times when its a documentary, where it’s not staged. To me it seems like the producers and director on the film either are lazy, or are trying to fool us into thinking what’s going on is real. I prefer my fiction in the standard movie format, so that I can see what’s going on, instead of the case like Devil Inside where the car is rolling, but I don’t know what the hell is going on. I have not seen the movie, and from what I’ve heard, it’s very poor. Chronicle however is the complete opposite, it’s an exceptionally executed film. The filmmakers have done their homework, they took what works in found footage movies, and amped it up, in one instance by having the camera in a 3rd person, due to the gifts of the teens in the film. Also, in some instances, with the girl vlogger, hopping back and forth between cameras to show what’s happening.

What I really like is toward the climax, where *Spoiler* the main character is floating above a tower, becoming even more angry, letting the rage build, all while controlling several handycams and cellphone cameras, and our perspective hops between them when he confronts his cousin. I enjoyed the films nuances, and action scenes. The movie is plausible, with its action, to a certain degree, however, the ending is a little odd, but fitting due to the aspirations of the main character. I did catch how people would think that the climax, much like a good chunk of the film is like the Japanese Manga “Akira”, as the climax is almost something right out of that flick. It still hadn’t been really done in a live action setting, and the character needed to do something big, so I let it slide in that regard. The film is a great piece of work, the acting is solid, the plot, while some parts are predictable at times, keeps you interested enough to keep it enjoyable. If you don’t like found footage, you may have mixed feelings going into this movie. I didn’t know until I bought a ticket that it was found footage, until a friend told me. I had seen the trailer and liked what I saw, so I went and watched it in a theatre.  I enjoyed the movie, and would probably pick it up on DVD or Blu-ray when it’s out. The movie can be seen by most people, there isn’t too much blood, gore, or sex in the movie, but because of its film style, it may not be for everyone.

Hugo

I really enjoyed this flick, it is meant for everyone to enjoy, and reminds us how awesome it is to watch movies. Scorsese takes a shot at being a family film director, as he was inspired by his daughter, as she wanted to see a film about this story. So Martin decided to throw his hat in the ring and give it a go and its fantastic. The movie is deserving of all the awards it won for techincals at the Oscars. For 3D, it used it well, a lot of the movie’s enhanced effects work well with its use of it. I’d recommend seeing it on theatres, as it’s definitely something you can take the kids to, and enjoy yourselves with a drink and some popcorn. It’s a movie I could show my grandparents and they would enjoy seeing. The characters are memorable, and you can’t help but become attached to them. Ben Kingsley does an awesome performance as the retired filmmaker Georges Méliès, as the historical figure that the story takes place around. I can’t say too much about adaptation of the book, but if it was nominated for an oscar and well liked by critics, usually its done well. I enjoyed this movie, and will buy it on DVD for my nieces, but probably on Blu-ray for myself. I don’t want to say too much about the story, as I don’t want to ruin it for you.

We get to see however, various actors we’ve seen before in other roles, in the film. Sacha Baron Cohen finally plays a character that isn’t in your face comedy that turns you off, like his Borat or Ali G characters. His portrayal of the Station Inspector is fitting for him, and he shows the emotions of the character’s predicaments very well. We see 2 former Harry Potter actors in this film, Richard Griffiths (Harry’s Uncle) and Frances de la Tour (Madame Olympe Maxime, Hagrid’s love interest) fit the roles of a couple of people who care for one another, but can never see more of each other for more than 10 seconds due to her character’s dog. We also have Christopher Lee [Dooku (Star Wars), Saruman (LOTR), and Ansem (Kingdom Hearts games)] as the bookstore owner, as a small role, but significant enough to the main character. Jude Law plays Hugo’s father, and definitely draws you into the film with his raw talent that he’s shown countless times before. This movie is like eating a fine dessert at a 5 star restaurant, as if it were comfort food, making you feel all warm and fuzzy inside. It’s definitely worth a watch to everyone. Go see it, or buy it on DVD or Blu-Ray, it’s an instant classic.

Well, that’s all for now, I still haven’t seen Ghost Rider: Spirit Of Vengeance yet, still have mixed feelings about it, but I’ll get to it as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

